Tell Hempstead Town Council: Reject Supervisor Santino’s Shameless Political Machine Payoff


Last month’s historic election which showed Town of Hempstead residents want new leadership.

Outgoing Town Supervisor Anthony Santino’s even said he wished incoming Supervisor Laura Gillen, “the best of success as she assumes the position of Hempstead Town Supervisor” and that he looked forward “to working cooperatively with her to ensure a smooth transition.”

That has not held up. Instead, the Supervisor is pushing a shameless personnel move that would give raises, move, and otherwise payoff and protect his favored town employees.

This reveals a disturbing attitude that government exists to serve the interests of a political machine at taxpayers’ expense. The Town Council should vote down the Supervisor’s payoff scheme.

Here’s what you need to know:

  • He is proposing the Hempstead Town Board appoint, promote, transfer or give raises to 192 town employees before leaving office. The positions under consideration include both union and exempt employees, as well as some who have passed Civil Service exams. Staff in the offices of elected officials or department commissioners would be protected if the town board approves their transfers to other departments within the town.
  • If passed, Supervisor-elect Laura Gillen will be blocked from making meaningful changes to personnel, and services. This is a backdoor way of denying the will of Hempstead voters.
  • It adds costs for an already expensive town government. According to the incoming Supervisor it locks in over $4 million in expenses. The Town has seen its payroll expand from 1,974 in 2006 to 4,550 in 2016, according to Newsday.

Hempstead residents cannot afford to sit by and watch as town hall gets looted, and political hacks dodge public accountability. It’s time for you to demand the Town Council stop Supervisor Santino’s shameless scheme.

Here’s what you can do:


Attend Tuesday morning’s board meeting:

1 Washington St., Hempstead, NY 11550


Call your Town Council person:

Edward A. Ambrosino

2nd District Council Member

(516) 812-3179


Bruce A. Blakeman

3rd District Council Member

(516) 812-3523


Anthony P. D’Esposito

4th District Council Member

(516) 812-3242


Dennis Dunne, Sr.

6th District Council Member

(516) 812-3180


Dorothy L. Goosby

1st District Council Member

Senior Councilwoman

(516) 489-5000, ext. 4304


Erin King Sweeney

5th District Council Member

(516) 812-3285